‘A timeslip adventure into the deep past, where survival is at the point of a spear and family is the only thing you have to hold onto'

A.F. Harrold

 'It is funny and serious and adventurous all at the same time!'

Year 3 reader, Freshford School

'The Wild Way Home echoes Skellig and Stig of the Dump, with a bold, readable charm entirely its own ... Full of peril, sadness and wild joy, it's a timeslip adventure with a difference.' 

Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian

‘I loved this unique quirky story full of heart’

Jasbinder Bilan

'I can honestly say, in my six years of teaching so far, I have never read a book to my class that has captivated them so much!'

Year 4 teacher, Ravenscote Junior School

 'So good I read it twice.'

Hilary McKay

 'It made me laugh, cry, gasp and turn the pages for one more chapter every time I had to stop.'

Nizrana Farook

'A really powerful debut and definitely a must in every school library.'

Fleur Hitchcock

ac6c0b9f-43d0-4c9b-9d79-d2e9fa450c43.__C

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month, July 2020

Shortlisted for the Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize

 

Shortlisted for the Warwickshire Junior Book Award,2021

Longlisted for the Branford Boase Award, 2021

 

Longlisted for the Spark Book Award, 2021

LoveReading4Kids Debut of the Month, July 2020 

Toppsta Best Book of the Month, July 2020

LoveReading4Schools Book of the Month, July 2020

 

An unforgettable adventure about courage and family that will plunge you back into the Stone Age... and then lead you home. 

When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy floating face-down in the stream, injured, but alive. But when Charlie sets off back to the hospital to fetch help, it seems the forest has changed. It's become a place as strange and wild as the boy dressed in deerskins. For Charlie has unwittingly fled into the Stone Age, with no way to help the boy or return to the present day. Or is there ... ?

What follows is a wild, big-hearted adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost - their courage, their hope, their family and their way home.

Fans of Piers Torday, Geraldine McCaughrean and Stig of the Dump will love this wild, wise and heartfelt debut adventure.

Are you sitting comfortably?

Then let me read you the first chapter...