My Books

 A timeslip adventure into the deep past, where survival is at the point of a spear and family is the only thing you have to hold onto'

A.F. Harrold, 

‘I loved this unique quirky story full of heart’ Jasbinder Bilan

 'Gorgeously magical and achingly real.' Stephanie Burgis

 'It made me laugh, cry, gasp and turn the pages for one more chapter every time I had to stop.'

Nizrana Farook

'A really powerful debut and definitely a must in every school library.'

Fleur Hitchcock

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month, July 2020

Shortlisted for the Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize

LoveReading4Kids Debut of the Month, July 2020 

LoveReading4Schools Book of the Month, July 2020

I'm also one of the poets featured in this ROARSOME anthology about dinosaurs from The Emma Press...

ROAR! Now I've got your attention, can I interest you in a book of poems about dinosaurs? Dragons of the Prime is an anthology for children which tackles the big questions about these larger-than-life creatures: what would a baby diplodocus pray for, and just how big is a dinosaurs egg? Along the way it takes in fossil-finders like the pioneering Mary Anning, T-Rex's gym routine, and chickens who dream at night of their dino ancestors' dagger teeth. There are poems about dinosaurs in their Jurassic heyday, poems about new discoveries and the latest scientific knowledge, and poems about the history of how humans have imagined these amazing beasts.

"A stunning anthology" BookTrust,

Book of the Day

 

An unforgettable adventure about courage and family that will plunge you back into the Stone Age... and then lead you home. 

When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy floating face-down in the stream, injured, but alive. But when Charlie sets off back to the hospital to fetch help, it seems the forest has changed. It's become a place as strange and wild as the boy dressed in deerskins. For Charlie has unwittingly fled into the Stone Age, with no way to help the boy or return to the present day. Or is there ... ?

What follows is a wild, big-hearted adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost - their courage, their hope, their family and their way home.

Fans of Piers Torday, Geraldine McCaughrean and Stig of the Dump will love this wild, wise and heartfelt debut adventure.

© 2020 Sophie Kirtley

  • Twitter
  • Instagram